Taunton Young Musician Report 2006-07

Published February 10, 2014 by Webmaster in Taunton Young Musician Reports

Taunton Young Musician – Winner 2006-7

What a feast of music and young talent!” is the way a member of the audience described the semi final and final parts of the Taunton Young Musician of the Year Competition which took place on Sunday 28 January at Queen’s Hall, Queen’s College, Taunton. The first round had taken place in November at the Festival and of the twenty entries, thirteen had been selected to go forward into this final round of the competition.

The semi final produced some very impressive playing and singing from all of the competitors, making the selection of five finalists an almost impossible task for the adjudicators. The Chairman of the adjudicators, before announcing the names of the finalists, commented that the standard of performance from all competitors was so high that undoubtedly another set of judges may well have disagreed with their decision! In the event the five selected were Michael Collins (baritone), Timothy Davies (oboe), Thomas Hedges (piano), Thomas Moss (bassoon) and Peter Oakley (counter tenor).

The vexed question then arose about who was to play first and this was resolved by drawing the 5 names from the impressive glass trophy donated by Taunton’s Will Shakspeare. Each student then performed short 20 minute recitals playing music of their own choice – and what a wide range of music was chosen! Recitals included items by Brahms, Mozart, Schumann, Purcell, Quilter, Hindemith, Shostakovich.

Adjudicator Graeme Humphrey, before announcing the winner commented that of the numbers of children in the country currently learning to play an instrument, 70% are girls and yet strangely, all of the Taunton Young Musician finalists were boys! He also advised students about their selection of music, “choose something to play or sing which you are comfortable with and which you enjoy performing”. After some nail biting moments he then announced that pianist Thomas Hedges had been placed third, Michael Collins second and the winner of the trophy and first prize was Peter Oakley.

The Mayor of Taunton Deane, Councillor Chris Hindley, then warmly congratulated the winners and presented the trophy and prizes.

The winner, counter tenor, Peter Oakley receiving the new trophy donated by Will Shakspeare Glass, from the Mayor of Taunton Deane, Councillor Chris Hindley.

TYM 2006 was sponsored by Taunton Deane, AH Gadd Ltdand Shakspeare Glass
TYM 2006 was sponsored by the Rotary Clubs of Taunton and Taunton Vale